Cooking Challenges

Cooking is more difficult when you have to make the chicken stock, soak and season the beans, and use all fresh everything because nothing is ready prepared…. But my spicy veggie soup over rice was a hit ;)

What I put in the soup: black beans, garbanzo beans, onions, carrots, green peppers, corn, lots of tomatoes, a couple chili peppers, and garlic. I put this over rice and then topped off with cilantro, avocado, and a little freshly grated mantecoso cheese!

Now, I need to admit the bean soaking/seasoning didn’t make it in the soup the first night… that took a little practice but got included with the leftovers! Hey, I’m still a cook in progress!

But, I’m pretty proud of myself considering my recipe called for chicken stock (which I had to just use water and season extra all by myself), beans (obviously already soaked and seasoned), and canned tomatoes (already seasoned with basil, oregano, and other spices). I didn’t use any oils or butters so this is definitely a delicious and healthy meal for the books!

Let me know if you've got something to say!

